



REPORT

Postdoctoral scientist Recruitment

Prepared for: INFRAVEC-2 GA731060

Prepared by: John Vontas

H2020-INFRAIA-2016-2017

Research Infrastructures for the control of vector-borne diseases

INFRAVEC-2

IMBB-P.N.: 9325 10/3/2017







According to the Grant Agreement for INFRAVEC-2-731060, we have posted the advertisement for one (1) Postdoctoral Researcher position at the Vontas laboratory. The text for the INFRAVEC-2 open position post has been published on February 22, 2017 (IMBB P.N. 9273/22-2-2017) at the website of the Institute of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology-FORTH (http://www.imbb.forth.gr/jobs/230217_Vontas-OPZ-0036.pdf), the EURAXESS portal and the DIAYGEIA System ADA: $6\Phi\Psi0469HKY-\Sigma NO$.

The desired qualifications of the applicants involved a PhD in Biology/Molecular Biology/Biochemistry; Post-doctoral experience in insect molecular biology and insecticide resistance, proven record of assay development skills, genome modification techniques in drosophila, protein expression systems and ability to collaborate in a team.

Two applications were submitted to the Principal Investigator (PI) in charge i.e. John Vontas in response to the advertised position (Ref # OPZ-0036).

Prof. John Vontas, Prof. Vassilis Bouriotis and Prof. Michael Kokkinidis are the aforementioned scientists in charge on behalf of FORTH that consist the evaluation committee for the selection of postdoctoral scientists. The committee convened on March 10, 2017 and evaluated the applications that have been submitted for the open call regarding the position offered in the laboratory of Professor John Vontas. The committee decided to offer the job to Dr. Vassilis Douris. The selection was made on the basis of the education background of the applicant, his prior expertise and relevance in terms of his prior scientific focus to the INFRAVEC-2 program aims.

The applicant has been accordingly informed about the outcome of the evaluation process and Dr. Douris was invited to sign a contract with IMBB-FORTH.

Heraklion, March 10, 2017	
The selection committee:	
John Vontas	
Vassilis Bouriotis	
Michael Kokkinidis	



Email: imbb@imbb.forth.gr