imbb logo for mobile


IMBB has set up and maintains an international advisory board, which evaluates the achievements of individual researchers triennially. IMBB-SAC also provides advice in scientific management issues, development and operation of common facilities, educational program and exploitation of scientific results.

SAC is an independent board composed by the Chair (appointed by the Director and the Scientific Council of IMBB) and the Members (appointed by the Chair of SAC). Each member is appointed for a 9-years term and members rotate out in an overlapping manner to secure continuity.

Current Chair of IMBB-SAC is Dr Spyros Artavanis-Tsakonas (2018-today). Previously SAC was led by Michel Ashburner and Fotis Kafatos.

In 2021 the General Secretary of Science and Innovation (GSRI) appointed Dr Miltos Tsiantis to Chair Scientific Evaluation Committee (SEC) for IMBB.

Current Members of SAC:

Chair of IMBB-SAC
Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA
Dr. Miltos Tsiantis
Chair of IMBB-SEC
Max Planck Institute for Plant Breeding Research, Cologne, Germany
Institut de Biologie de l'École Normale Supérieure, Paris, France
School of Neurosciences, Paris, France
Director EMBL, Heidelberg, Germany
Boston Children’s Hospital, Boston, USA
Institut Curie, Paris, France
Institut Pasteur, Paris, France


Former Members of SAC:

Michel Ashburner, Stratis Avrameas, Francis Collins, Guy Cornellis, Roger Craig, Emmanouil (Manolis) Dermitzakis, Jan Drenth, Walter Gehring, Frank Grosveld, Jules Hoffman, Roger Hull, Herbert Jaeckle, Fotis Kafatos, Elliot Meyerowitz, Cristoph Muller, Stelios Papadopoulos, Nadia Rosentahl, Matti Saraste, Walter Shaffner, Gottfried Schatz, Jeff Schell, Arthur Scherf, Ed Southern, Kevin Struhl, Dimitris Tsernoglou, Philip Tsichlis, Marc Van Montagu, Horst Vogel.