imbb logo for mobile


IMBB has set up and maintains an international advisory board, which evaluates the achievements of individual researchers triennially. IMBB-SAC also provides advice in scientific management issues, development and operation of common facilities, educational program and exploitation of scientific results.

SAC is an independent board composed by the Chairman (appointed by the Director and the Scientific Council of IMBB) and the Members (appointed by the Chairman of SAC). Each member is appointed for a 9-years term and members rotate out in an overlapping manner to secure continuity.

The current Chairman of SAC is Dr Spyros Artavanis-Tsakonas (2018 – 2027).
Previously SAC was led by Michel Ashburner (1989-1993) and Fotis Kafatos (1993-2009).

Current Members of SAC:

Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA
Institut de Biologie de l'École Normale Supérieure, Paris, France
University of Geneva Medical School, Geneva, Switzerland
French Institute of Health and Medical Research, Paris, France
Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA
Director EMBL, Heidelberg, Germany
Boston Children’s Hospital, Boston, USA
Institut Curie, Paris, France
Institut Pasteur, Paris, France
Max Planck Institute for Plant Breeding Research, Cologne, Germany


Former Members of SAC:

Michel Ashburner, Stratis Avrameas, Francis Collins, Guy Cornellis, Roger Craig, Jan Drenth, Walter Gehring, Frank Grosveld, Jules Hoffman, Roger Hull, Herbert Jaeckle, Fotis Kafatos, Elliot Meyerowitz, Cristoph Muller, Stelios Papadopoulos, Nadia Rosentahl, Matti Saraste, Walter Shaffner, Gottfried Schatz, Jeff Schell, Arthur Scherf, Ed Southern, Kevin Struhl, Dimitris Tsernoglou, Philip Tsichlis, Marc Montagou, Horst Vogel.